America’s Fiscal Problem Is Too Much Spending, not Inadequate Revenues


From Jim Campbell, Citizen Journalist and Patriot.

Dan Mitchell is one of the shining stars on the economy and taxation from the Cato Institute. He his frequently quoted on this site. 

Mitchell is a libertarian no doubt about that. In this debate he did you measure up to his usual par.  He got sucked in by the liberal speaker and his nonsense.  To raise taxes drives away job creation and more tax payers.  How this was missed in the discussion with the softballs tossed their way is beyond me.

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it, I’m J.C. and I approve this message.

by Dan Mitchell

International Liberty and the CATO Institute

In a debate on CNBC, I point out that America is in fiscal trouble because of the reckless spending of the Bush-Obama years.

Well since the topic was brought up, here’s a little piece I wrote while I was at the National Examiner to put but the fact behind Nancy Pelosi’s lies about “Bushes failed economy.  Yea he went a bit liberal with the  medicare prescription drug program. but the facts are all there, his economic program even dealing with the aftermath 911, Katrina,  starting up two wars, while  most people forget the harpy Pelosi was speaker of the House for the last two years in President Bush’s second term. 

The woman has no class, she always referred to her as Bush, not President, while he called her Madame Speaker.  I’m of the mind that respect is earned not owed, ergo I have no respect for Obama or his skank, the broom flying former speaker of the house. 

Let’s discuss the “failed economic policies” of President George W. Bush

Amazingly, my opponent at first claimed that taxes have no impact on the economy, though he then modified his statement to acknowledge some effect.

I think the best part of the interview was when I explained that there are several policies that impact economic performance, but that it’s always better to have lower tax rates rather than higher tax rates.

The worst part of the interview is that I got frozen out of the final part of the discussion.

I would have liked to make two final points. First, that all of our long-run fiscal challenge is the result of built-in growth of government spending, and second, that balancing the budget is easily achievable in just 10 years if policy makers limit the growth of spending to just 2 percent yearly.

Leave a Reply

